Studying again

My apologies, I’ve not blogged in a while!  However, I am working on new blogs, so watch this space! I fell behind because I took on new challenges this year, I’m teaching 5 subjects the first semester so planning and teaching are consuming a lot of time.  I’ve also decided to tackle a PhD.  This will no doubt influence future blogs and I thought it appropriate to share some reasons why I’m doing it:

  1. I enjoy learning, I have a never-ending curiosity and I am always enthusiastic about studying and exploring. I simply cannot recall a period in life that I wasn’t studying. Whilst working offshore I had drawings of the plant layout, the equipment, their functions etc. Not because I needed to know it, it just appealed to me to know what everyone else was doing! I’m also a compulsive short course student, courses include Cochrane hand searching, Institute of Healthcare Improvement, SHEQ qualifications, etc. I even listen to podcasts whilst driving – it just seems such a waste to not use the time.  A PhD seems like a way to focus my curiosity and challenge myself.
  2. A more naïve reason is that I see it as an opportunity to do something significant, to contribute to society at large scale. I suppose this is why I’m drawn to the interpretivist approach.  I’m using a narrative method called sense-making.  The method is increasingly being used in development projects, monitoring and evaluation and organisational change.
  3. As an out-of-the-box thinker in an industry that rewards conformity, I’ve at times felt boxed into roles where I felt that I had to disregard my curiosity and critical thinking. I see a PhD as an asset that will increase my potential to work in roles requiring creative thinking, innovative ideas and problem-solving. And finally, developing research competencies and doing independent research has always appealed to me, so I’m finally taking the plunge!

When you reach for the stars, you are reaching for the farthest thing out there.  When you reach deep into yourself, it is the same thing, but in the opposite direction.  If you reach in both directions, you will have spanned the universe.”  Vera Nazarin.

One thought on “Studying again

Leave a Reply

